Courtney committed to HRT in 2013

Former V8 Supercars champion James Courtney says he has unfinished business at the Toll Holden Racing Team and will be honouring his contract with the team in 2013.

{div width:280|height:280|float:right}{/div}Despite the deal with the factory team till the end of 2013, continued lean results has prompted speculation he could link up with former boss Charlie Schwerkolt at Ford Performance Racing or become a target for Nissan's factory team.

However, Courtney insists he isn't going anywhere and is committed to the Toll Holden Racing Team and improving results with the struggling team.

"I've got a deal till the end of next year (with HRT) and I'm never going to leave anything half done," Courtney told SPEED News Australia, playing down his links with Schwerkolt, with whom he won the 2010 V8 Supercars championship at Dick Johnson Racing.

"I've still got a lot of work to do with HRT and until I'm happy with where the team is at and we are winning races then you'd look to go somewhere else, but I'm not someone who gives up on a project halfway through, so we'll be fighting right to the end."

Describing the past 18 months as "hell" after his high-profile move to the team in 2011, Courtney admitted frustration is building.

"For a team that has had so much success in the past it's hard for anyone to take not getting the results," he said on the factory team's winning drought, which dates back to October last year.

"We are all getting frustrated and wanting to get the results, it's just a matter of not losing our heads."

The factory Holden drivers freely admit the team is still struggling with one aspect of car setup, believed to be poor balance from the rear of the car, which it has failed to iron out.

Courtney moved up to 13th in the championship standings following Hidden Valley, with teammate Garth Tander in eighth.


Event Date
Mount Panorama 500 Feb 26-28
Sandown SuperSprint Mar 18-21
Tasmania SuperSprint April 10-11
OTR The Bend SuperSprint May 8-9
Darwin Triple Crown June 19-20
NTI Townsville 500 July 9-11
WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint July 17-18
Sydney Motorsport Park  Oct 29-31
Sydney Motorsport Park  Nov 6-7
Sydney Motorsport Park  Nov 13-14
Sydney Motorsport Park  Nov 19-21
Repco Bathurst 1000  Nov 30-Dec 5



1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Jamie Whincup
1650 -276
3. Cameron Waters
1514 -412
4. Chaz Mostert
1506 -420
5. Will Davison
1505 -421
6. Anton De Pasquale
1246 -680
7. Mark Winterbottom
1138 -788
8. Nick Percat
1128 -798
9. James Courtney
1074 -852
10. Will Brown
1001 -925

Full championship standings