Thursday, 13 August 2020 14:01

Feature: Top 10 races in the ATCC/Supercars


The Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championship celebrates its 60th anniversary in 2020. SupercarXtra Magazine issue #117 celebrates the milestones with lists of the high-achievers, including the top 10 races. 

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #117.

10. Adelaide Street Circuit 1999

The first Adelaide 500 marked the start of a new era for the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars, as the first marquee street-circuit event. The race itself delivered with Craig Lowndes winning the opening leg only to be demoted to the rear of the field  for the second leg for tangling with a backmarker. The Holden driver  then stormed through from the rear of the field to victory, in a race of survival. 

9. Queensland Raceway 2001

A late rain shower led to a dramatic conclusion to the Queensland 500 in 2001. Paul Radisich led the race only to lose control of his Ford AU Falcon as the conditions worsened. A dramatic race ended with the leader in the gravel trap and the red flag being shown, handing Radisich and Steven Johnson the win ahead of a frustrated Larry Perkins and Russell Ingall, who were left as the leading car on the road but declared as runners-up. 

8. Adelaide International Raceway 1983

The closest ever race in championship history saw Peter Brock defeat Allan Moffat in a drag race to the finish line. Brock’s Holden VH Commodore SS had the horsepower advantage and could power away on the straight, while Moffat’s more nimble Mazda RX-7 fought back in the twisty section. But the Commodore prevailed on the run to the line, giving Brock a crucial win the championship battle eventually won by Moffat. 

7. Mount Panorama Circuit 1972

Allan Moffat and Ian Geoghegan engaged in an all-Ford race-long battle at the Mount Panorama Circuit. The Mustang of Moffat and Falcon of Geoghegan fought it out bumper-to-bumper over the course of the race, until Geoghegan’s car start leaking fuel. Moffat dropped back, undid his seat belts to see out of the driver’s side window and fought back in the closing stages only to lose by six-tenths of a second. 

6. Lakeside Raceway 1981

The 1981 championship came down to a final round decider between Ford’s Dick Johnson and Holden’s Peter Brock at the former’s home circuit of Lakeside in Queensland. Johnson held off the Commodore of Brock in a race-long battle despite having a broken front anti-roll bar on his Falcon. He won the race by two-tenths of a second and the championship by eight points, in the greatest battle between the two greats. 

5. Mount Panorama Circuit 2007

Rain once again caused havoc in the late stages of the 2007 Bathurst 1000, scattering the order and setting up a thrilling final stint. Mark Winterbottom, Mark Skaife, Russell Ingall and Jason Bright all fell foul of the conditions when in strong positions, leaving Craig Lowndes and Steven Johnson to fight it out for the lead. Lowndes and co-driver Jamie Whincup prevailed, while the battle for the podium places came down to a final-corner battle. 

4. Symmons Plains Raceway 1969

The 1969 championship, the first to be run over multiple rounds, was decided at the final race of the season in Tasmania. Ian Geoghegan and Alan Hamilton were the championship protagonists with Geoghegan seemingly out of contention after stalling and being disqualified for a push-start. Hamilton was in second place and closing in on an ailing Norm Beechey on the final lap, though Beechey held on by three-tenths of a second to deprive Hamilton of the title by one point. 

3. Sydney Olympic Park 2010

The penultimate race of the season came alive with a sudden rain shower. The three championship contenders, Mark Winterbottom, Jamie Whincup and James Courtney, were leading when the conditions worsened, and they duly hit the wall simultaneously. The race then headed for pitlane with the respective crews rushing to repair the cars to get back out on track and score valuable points, with Courtney emerging from the pits to finish the race and winning the title the following day.

2. Newcastle Street Circuit 2017

A season-long battle between Triple Eight Race Engineering and DJR Team Penske was settled on the final lap of the final race in Newcastle. DJR Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin fought back from two penalties only to tangle with Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Craig Lowndes on the final lap and receive a third penalty. This handed the championship to race winner Jamie Whincup, in the most dramatic of title deciders. 

1. Mount Panorama Circuit 2014

The 2014 Bathurst 1000 had it all over the course of its seven hours and 58 minutes. A race stoppage helped set up a thrilling final stint, with Chaz Mostert and Paul Morris recovering from starting last place on the grid and an early-race accident to win with a last-lap pass on the out of fuel Jamie Whincup. It was the culmination of a race that had it all, with the first two cars across the line both having been in the wall earlier in the race, highlighting the drama of the day.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #117 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #117 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #117 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #117.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
2049 -305
3. Cameron Waters
1849 -505
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1795 -559
5. Chaz Mostert
1700 -654
6.  Nick Percat
1641 -713
7. Fabian Coulthard
1560 -794
8. Anton De Pasquale
1469 -885
9. Mark Winterbottom
1386 -968
10. Scott Pye
1382 -972

Full championship standings