Monday, 06 July 2020 15:07

Feature: Top 60 drivers from 60 years


Who are the greatest drivers in the 60-year history of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars?

SupercarXtra Magazine issue #117 ranks the top 60 with an emphasis on best championship finishes, race-winning percentage and competitive longevity.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #117.

Only drivers with top-10 championship finishes were considered, to emphasise championship performances over part-time or endurance campaigns.

Also, results from the Bathurst 1000 and other endurance events were only factored in when they were part of the championship.   

The top 10 drivers, in alphabetical rather than actual order, are: Peter Brock, Ian Geoghegan, Bob Jane, Dick Johnson, Craig Lowndes, Scott McLaughlin, Allan Moffat, Jim Richards, Mark Skaife and Jamie Whincup.

Just missing out on the top 10 were two-time champions Glenn Seton, Norm Beechey and Marcos Ambrose, followed by the one-time champions.

Coming in at number 60 is Barry Seton, sitting alongside other smaller-class racers such as Bob Holden and Lawrie Nelson.

More than 120 drivers were considered for the top 60 list. And though it’s not an exact science, ranking the best drivers provides a fascinating snapshot of the heroes of the championship and their achievements over the decades.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #117 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #117 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #117 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #117.




Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Sydney Motorsport Park June 27-28
Truck Assist Winton July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 8-9
Townsville August 29-30
Penrite Oil Sandown September 19-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
PIRTEK Perth Oct. 31-Nov. 1
Tyrepower Tasmania November 21-22
Sydney Motorsport Park December 12-13



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
695 -107
3. Chaz Mostert
610 -192
4. Nick Percat
569 -233
5. Cameron Waters
569 -233
6. David Reynolds
562 -240
7. Shane van Gisbergen
539 -263
8. Lee Holdsworth
535 -267
9. Mark Winterbottom
514 -288
10. Andre Heimgartner
456 -346

Full championship standings