JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Print this page
Thursday, 16 January 2020 10:06

Shootout: Top 10 dominant championships


SupercarXtra Magazine ranks the top 10 most dominant championship seasons by a driver in issue #114.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #114.

The top 10 is:

10. Marcos Ambrose, 2004

Ambrose claimed a second consecutive championship win with the Ford BA Falcon for Stone Brothers Racing in 2004, winning 11 of 26 races, including sweeps at the season opener in Adelaide and the finale in Sydney.

9. Jim Richards, 1985

Richards dominated in the first season of the Group A era with the BMW 635 CSi in 1985, winning the first of his four titles. The New Zealander won seven of the 10 rounds, including six in a row.

8. Peter Brock, 1974

Brock was in a league of his own in 1974, winning his first of three titles for the Holden Dealer Team with the Holden LJ Torana GTR XU-1 and LH SL/R 5000. Brock won five of seven rounds and finished in the top three in every race.

7. Allan Moffat, 1977

Moffat had a near-perfect season with the Ford XB Falcon GT/XC GS500 in 1977, winning the title with victory in seven of 11 rounds in front of teammate Colin Bond. The Moffat Ford Dealers duo went on to score a famous one-two formation finish at Bathurst, led by Moffat.

6. Dick Johnson, 1981

Johnson overcame the heartbreak of crashing out from the lead at Bathurst in 1980 to win the first of his five championships in 1981. Racing with the Ford XD Falcon, Johnson defeated Peter Brock in the championship with five wins from eight rounds before going on to win at Bathurst.

5. Garth Tander, 2007

Tander’s sole championship win came driving the Holden VE Commodore with the HSV Dealer Team in 2007. He won 15 of 37 races, including a run of five in a row early in the season to set up his title.

4. Mark Skaife, 2002

Skaife was unbeatable in the Holden VX Commodore with the Holden Racing Team in 2002, winning the championship with victory in more than 50 per cent of the races (15 of 29). The factory Holden driver then went on to win Bathurst, completing back-to-back championship and Bathurst doubles.

3. Jamie Whincup, 2008

Whincup’s record-breaking run of seven championships for Triple Eight Race Engineering began with the Ford BF Falcon in 2008. Despite missing the Hamilton round following an accident in qualifying, Whincup won the title with 15 wins from 34, including a third consecutive win at Bathurst.

2. Craig Lowndes, 1996

Lowndes set a then record for most race wins in a season in a remarkable rookie year driving the Holden VR Commodore for the Holden Racing Team in 1996, winning 16 of 30 races. He continued his winning run in the endurance events, taking victory in the Sandown 500 and Bathurst 1000 alongside Greg Murphy.

1. Scott McLaughlin, 2019

McLaughlin broke the record for most race wins in a season with four rounds still to go in 2019. The DJR Team Penske driver, in the new Ford Mustang, built up an unassailable lead for his second consecutive championship win, taking six wins in a row across four events in the middle of the season.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #114 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #114 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #114 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #114 at your nearest store.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #114.