JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Thursday, 05 December 2019 14:48

Scott McLaughlin: The record breaker


DJR Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin has rewritten the Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championship record books in 2019. SupercarXtra Magazine issue #114 looks at the story of his remarkable season and what comes next.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #114.

At 26 years of age, McLaughlin hit the peak of his powers in 2019. 

The New Zealander always seemed destined for Supercars stardom, from making his debut in the Dunlop Super2 Series as a baby-faced 16-year-old in 2010 to winning races in his first full-time season in the Supercars main game in 2013 to finishing in the top 10 of the championship in each of his seven full-time seasons, having won races across two teams, four different cars and three manufacturers.

The move to DJR Team Penske in 2017 and the partnership with engineer Ludo Lacroix elevated him to the next level, leading to the record-breaking run of 2019 that saw him win a second consecutive championship and the Bathurst 1000 for the first time.

Issue #114 outlines the story of his season, the key players, the factors in his success and what the future holds for the two-time champion.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #114 within Australia to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #114 within New Zealand to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #114 for the rest of the world to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #114 at your nearest store.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #114 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings