JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Tuesday, 15 October 2019 13:23

Shootout: Top 10 most successful enduro combinations


With the PIRTEK Enduro Cup underway, we rank the top 10 most successful endurance combinations in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #113.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #113.

As winner of the Bathurst 500/1000 nine times, Peter Brock features prominently with he and Jim Richards ranked as the best combination.

Brock and Richards were the first drivers to score three wins in a row in the Bathurst 500/1000 between 1978 and 1980. The 1979 win (pictured above) remains the most dominant in the event’s history, with a margin of six laps and Brock recording the fastest lap on the final lap of the race.

Brock went on to score another hat-trick of wins between 1982 and 1984 with Larry Perkins,, albeit with the assistance of a second car in 1983. The high point was 1984 with victory in the first Sandown enduro run to 500 kilometres followed by the third win at Bathurst in the famed Group C Holden VK Commodore.

Current combination Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup achieved the rare three-peat of Bathurst 500/1000 wins between 2006 and 2008. Their four years together also netted a Sandown 500 win in 2007 while they also claimed a win as co-drivers in the Bathurst 12 Hour.

Another popular combination was Dick Johnson and John Bowe, who were co-drivers for a 10-year period from 1988 to 1997, winning the Bathurst 1000 in 1989 and 1994 and the Sandown 500 in back-to-back years in 1994 and 1995.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #113 within Australia to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #113 within New Zealand to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #113 for the rest of the world to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #113 at your nearest store to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #113 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings