JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Print this page
Sunday, 25 August 2019 13:00

Dominators: The powerhouse teams


The domination of Scott McLaughlin in 2019 will lift Dick Johnson Racing/DJR Team Penske to the top of the all-time Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars drivers’ championship wins.

Dick Johnson Racing/DJR Team Penske along with eight other teams have won three or more drivers’ titles and enjoyed periods of domination across the championship and Bathurst 500/1000. We profile the dominant teams of Australian touring cars in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #112.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #112.

It would’ve been impossible to predict the impact Dick Johnson’s privateer outfit would have on Australian touring cars when he rolled out with his own Ford XD Falcon in 1980. The heartbreak of crashing into a rock while leading the Bathurst 1000 in that year made Johnson a household name with the outpouring of support that followed setting the foundations for a stronger Dick Johnson Racing.

Johnson rebounded with the championship and Bathurst double in 1981 with a further two titles in 1982 and 1984 rounding out the team’s first dominant spell. The next came under the Group A regulations with the Ford RS5000 Sierras of Johnson and teammate John Bowe unbeatable in 1988 and 1989 and crushing its rival at Bathurst in 1989.

The team transitioned well into the V8 era from 1993 and won another Bathurst in 1994 and the title for Bowe in 1995. A surprise title win for James Courtney in 2010 showed the team’s resilience after a bleak few seasons following ownership and sponsorship problems. But worse was to come with the team struggling to survive in the seasons that followed that title win.

The efforts of Ryan Story and arrival of Team Penske as a majority owner paved the way for a return to the top, with Scott McLaughlin giving the Falcon its final title win in 2018. The title win this season would give the team the record for most drivers’ championship wins with nine and make it the first team in history to win with three different models, the Falcon, Sierra and Mustang. 

Other teams to have won three or more drivers’ championships and profiled in issue #112 are Total Team, Bob Jane Racing, Allan Moffat Racing, Holden Dealer Team, Gibson Motorsport, Holden Racing Team, Stone Brothers Racing and Triple Eight Race Engineering.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #112 within Australia to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #112 within New Zealand to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #112 for the rest of the world to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #112 at your nearest store.