JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Thursday, 08 August 2019 17:41

DJR Team Penske: From salvation to domination


Dick Johnson Racing stood on the brink of extinction entering 2013, facing mounting debts, a lack of sponsors and poor on-track results. Six years on, DJR Team Penske entered 2019 as the defending champions and has confirmed its place as the current powerhouse in Supercars.

SupercarXtra Magazine looks at the latest remarkable comeback of a team that built its legend on fighting back from adversity in the cover story of issue #112.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #112.

The legend of Dick Johnson and Dick Johnson Racing/DJR Team Penske was born with the championship and Bathurst double in 1981, a year after the devastation of crashing out of Bathurst after hitting a rock while leading.

It wouldn’t be the last adversity they faced, with even more remarkable and complex fightbacks over the coming years.

DJR Team Penske now stands on the brink of a record-breaking championship win in 2019. 

The team will become the most successful in terms of drivers’ championships won, moving to nine, one ahead of current rival Triple Eight Race Engineering.

Also, in the process, it will become the first team to win championships with three different car models – the Falcon, Sierra and Mustang.

It’s remarkable to think, then, that Johnson’s team was almost lost to Supercars just six years ago, the trough of a 10-year period in which it went from champions to also-rans and near financial collapse to champions again and the current powerhouse outfit.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #112 within Australia to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #112 within New Zealand to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #112 for the rest of the world to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #112 at your nearest store.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings