JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Sunday, 28 July 2019 16:44

Shootout: The top 10 greatest seasons


The Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars is in its 60th season in 2019. SupercarXtra Magazine celebrates the history of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars in issue #111, on sale now!

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #111. 

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within Australia to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within New Zealand to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 for the rest of the world to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #111 at your nearest store.

We begin by looking at the history of the category through its various technical guises, from the Appendix J rules first used in 1960 to the V8-based formula born in the 1990s, which still forms the basis for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

The champions of the category are commemorated in our ‘Race of Champions’ feature, in which we imagine what the grid of the 25 championship-winning drivers would look like. We also profile the 34 circuits that have hosted the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars, in addition to a list of records and champions from the last 60 years.

Also, in our ‘Shootout’ section, we look back on the top 10 greatest seasons. They are as follows:

10. 1999

Craig Lowndes won his third championship despite missing a round through injury following a huge crash at Calder Park. With the debut of the Adelaide 500 and inclusion of the Bathurst 1000 in the championship for the first time, big grids ushered in a new era for the category.

9. 1979

Holden drivers Peter Brock and Bob Morris won seven of the eight rounds between them and fought it out for the title at the season finale in Adelaide. Morris prevailed to claim the title for the privateers over the factory-backed star.

8. 1981

Dick Johnson and Peter Brock fought it out for the title with the championship decided in a thrilling head-to-head battle at the finale at Lakeside. Johnson overcame race-long pressure from Brock to win the race and the title on home soil.

7. 1971

A classic muscle-car battle saw the Ford Mustangs of Allan Moffat and Ian Geoghegan battle it out with the Chevrolet Camaro of Bob Jane. The title battle went down to the wire at Oran Park with Jane scoring the race win and championship.

6. 1990

Four legends of the sport did battle for the championship, with the Ford Sierras of Dick Johnson, Peter Brock and Colin Bond defeated by the Nissan Skyline of Jim Richards to the title.

5. 1969

The first multi-round championship went down to the final race of the season, with Alan Hamilton in a Porsche 911 almost snatching victory in the finale. Unable to pass an ailing Norm Beechey in the final stages, the title win went to the Ford Mustang of Ian Geoghegan.

4. 2007

Two sets of teammates were engaged in a season-long battle that went down to the wire at Phillip Island. HSV Dealer Team’s Garth Tander defeated reigning championship winner Rick Kelly and Triple Eight Race Engineering duo Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes.

3. 2006

One of the most controversial championship deciders saw Rick Kelly crowned champion following a tangle with title rival Craig Lowndes in the final race of the season at Phillip Island. It followed on from an emotional Bathurst 1000 win for Lowndes over Kelly, in the wake of mentor Peter Brock’s passing.

2. 2010

James Courtney won the title in a dramatic finale in Sydney, overcoming Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom. The penultimate race of the season saw all three contenders crash into the wall in unison when a sudden downpour hit, leading to a race in pitlane to repair the damaged cars.

1. 2017

A classic Ford versus Holden battle was decided on the final lap of the final race of the season when Scott McLaughlin tangled with Craig Lowndes, handing the championship to race winner Jamie Whincup.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
261 -27
3. Chaz Mostert
234 -54
4. Cameron Waters
231 -57
5. Will Davison
231 -57
6. David Reynolds
210 -78
7. Lee Holdsworth
171 -117
8. Mark Winterbottom
162 -126
9. Fabian Coulthard
162 -126
10. Rick Kelly
150 -138

Full championship standings