JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Print this page
Wednesday, 10 July 2019 00:15

60 years of ATCC/VASC: A rich racing heritage


The Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championship notches up its 60th season in 2019. To celebrate we look back at the six-decade history of the category in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #111.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #111. 

On February 1 in 1960, at the Gnoo Blas Motor Racing Circuit in Orange in New South Wales, the Australian Touring Car Championship was born.

Forty-eight cars took to the grid across five classes that day, from the Jaguar Mark 1 3.4 that triumphed in the hands of David McKay to the Austin A40 Farina of Brian Foley that won the under 1000cc class.

It marked the start of something big with the championship growing massively over the coming decades, from the single-race deciders of those early years to multiple rounds and then the inclusion of the great endurance races such as the Bathurst 1000 and regular ventures outside of Australia.

The history of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championshiprules since 1960 showcases in its own way the evolution of the automotive industry in Australia and the guiding principles of parity that have been part of the championship throughout its six decades.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #111 at your nearest store.