JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Wednesday, 10 July 2019 00:15

60 years of ATCC/VASC: A rich racing heritage


The Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championship notches up its 60th season in 2019. To celebrate we look back at the six-decade history of the category in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #111.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #111. 

On February 1 in 1960, at the Gnoo Blas Motor Racing Circuit in Orange in New South Wales, the Australian Touring Car Championship was born.

Forty-eight cars took to the grid across five classes that day, from the Jaguar Mark 1 3.4 that triumphed in the hands of David McKay to the Austin A40 Farina of Brian Foley that won the under 1000cc class.

It marked the start of something big with the championship growing massively over the coming decades, from the single-race deciders of those early years to multiple rounds and then the inclusion of the great endurance races such as the Bathurst 1000 and regular ventures outside of Australia.

The history of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championshiprules since 1960 showcases in its own way the evolution of the automotive industry in Australia and the guiding principles of parity that have been part of the championship throughout its six decades.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #111 at your nearest store.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings