JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Thursday, 27 June 2019 12:50

Special edition: 60-year milestone for the ATCC/Supercars


The Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars has come a long way since its first event in 1960. The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship is now the biggest motorsport category in Australia with events across the country and in New Zealand, built off the back of six decades of history. 

We celebrate the 60-year milestone of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars in a special edition of SupercarXtra Magazine, issue #11. 

We begin by looking at the history of the category through its various technical guises, from the Appendix J rules first used in 1960 to the V8-based formula born in the 1990s, which still forms the basis for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

The champions of the category are commemorated in our ‘Race of Champions’ feature, in which we imagine what the grid of the 25 championship-winning drivers would look like. 

We also profile the 34 circuits that have hosted the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars, in addition to a list of records and champions from the last 60 years and the top-10 seasons in our ‘Shootout’ section. 

Included in the print edition of issue #111 is a pullout poster featuring the legends of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #111 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #111 at your nearest store.



Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings