JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 28798
Tuesday, 23 April 2019 10:11

Generation now: The new pecking order in Supercars


The full-time retirements of Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander put an exclamation point on the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship’s most recent generation change.

With a new champion in Scott McLaughlin, new contenders such as Cameron Waters, new veterans such as Jamie Whincup and new rising stars such as Anton de Pasquale, we attempt to make sense of this new pecking order by grouping the 2019 grid into their new roles in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #110.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #110.

There have been a number of high-profile retirements in Supercars in recent seasons, with Craig Lowndes’ decision to step back from full-time driving the most significant.

He represented the changing of the guard in Australian touring cars in the mid-1990s, bursting down the door that saw Garth Tander, Jason Bright, Greg Murphy, Todd Kelly and more follow and take over the mantle of leading drivers from Peter Brock, Dick Johnson, Jim Richards, Larry Perkins and co.

The latter were a golden generation of Australian touring cars, but Lowndes and co. carried the sport through an era of expansion and growth.

The next great generation change took place in the mid-2000s, when Jamie Whincup, Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney, Rick Kelly and co. raised the bar in terms of preparation and fitness. They did battle with Lowndes’ generation in a fascinating era of Supercars, though they now face new foes from the next in line.

The new crop of leading drivers are products of the Dunlop Super2 Series, the second-tier category, which has produced well-rounded talent ready to hit the main game running at a younger age.

This is the generation led by reigning champ McLaughlin, with each driver in this category filling a different role in Supercars’ new-look pecking order, as we examine in issue #110.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #110 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #110 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #110 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #110 at your nearest store.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
261 -27
3. Chaz Mostert
234 -54
4. Cameron Waters
231 -57
5. Will Davison
231 -57
6. David Reynolds
210 -78
7. Lee Holdsworth
171 -117
8. Mark Winterbottom
162 -126
9. Fabian Coulthard
162 -126
10. Rick Kelly
150 -138

Full championship standings