JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Friday, 14 December 2018 12:59

Blue Oval legend: Commemorating the Falcon


The Falcon name has gone from Australian new-car showrooms and when the chequered flag came down on the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 it raced its last lap in top-line Australian touring-car racing. It won’t soon be forgotten, though, as we commemorate the Blue Oval legend in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #108.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #108.

It’s been 58 years since the first left an Australian touring-car grid. In that time 14 of Ford’s 20 Bathurst wins and 17 of its 25 Australian Touring Car Championship (ATCC) titles have been grasped, grabbed, stolen or simply run away with in racers wearing the badge.

Next year’s Mustang Supercar might have history on its side and an undoubtedly bright racing future, but it also has big shoes to fill.

In issue #108, through seven generations, we revisit the highlights of an Australian touring-car legend, from the two XK Falcons that started the inaugural Armstrong 500 at Phillip Island in 1960, which included Bob Jane and Lou Molina’s XK that finished third in class despite a rollover, to the FG X Falcon that Scott McLaughlin drove to the championship win in 2018.

It’s impossible to name one Falcon as the most loved above the rest. The XC GS500 delivered Ford its most famous moment with the one-two formation finish at Bathurst in 1977.

For a fairytale moment, it’s the XD and Dick Johnson’s recovery from ‘The Rock’ incident in 1980 to winning the championship-Bathurst double in 1981.

The XY GTHO Phase III is probably the most sought-after Falcon, while the XR will go down in history as the first V8-powered winner at Mount Panorama.

The BA ended Holden’s rule with a dominant three-year period, while the FG X marked the end of the Falcon era. All could be considered iconic Falcons.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #108 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #108 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #108 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #108 at your nearest store.



Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings