JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Tuesday, 13 November 2018 12:13

Shootout: Top 10 championship showdowns


Ahead of the 2018 championship decider in Newcastle, reflect back on the great showdowns in the history of Australian touring cars in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #107.

CLICK HERE for more information on SupercarXtra Magazine issue #107.


Two sets of teammates did battle for the title at Phillip Island, HSV Dealer Team’s Garth Tander and Rick Kelly and Triple Eight’s Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes. Tander prevailed with the round win

9. ADELAIDE, 1979

Holden drivers Peter Brock and Bob Morris went head to head for the second consecutive season, with Morris prevailing in a win for the privateer entry over the factory-backed star.

8. ORAN PARK, 1990

Four legends of the sport did battle for the title at the Oran Park finale – Jim Richards in a Nissan Skyline and Dick Johnson, Colin Bond and Peter Brock in Ford Sierras. Richards held the advantage entering the round and sealed the title with victory, leaving the Sierras to fight for the runners-up place. That went to Brock.

7. ORAN PARK, 1971 

Muscle cars fought it out at Oran Park, with Allan Moffat and Ian Geoghegan in Ford Mustangs and Bob Jane in a Chevrolet Camaro. Jane claimed the race win and title.

6. ORAN PARK, 1987

Nissan’s Glenn Seton and BMW’s Jim Richards were battling for the title and running one and two in the finale when Richards punted Seton off track. Richards went on to win the race and the championship. Seton retired soon after the accident.


The first multi-round championship went down to the wire, with Alan Hamilton in a Porsche 911 needing to win to overcome the gap to Ian Geoghegan, who was disqualified from the race for receiving a jump start on the formation lap. But Hamilton was unable to pass the ailing Norm Beechey in the dramatic final stages, handing the title to Geoghegan.


The 2006 championship ended in controversial circumstances when Rick Kelly nudged title rival Craig Lowndes into a spin on the second lap. Kelly received a drive-through for the collision but still won the title with Lowndes down the field.

3. SYDNEY, 2010

The three championship protagonists, James Courtney, Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom, sensationally crashed in unison when a sudden downpour hit the Sydney Olympic Park circuit. Courtney’s Dick Johnson Racing team repaired their car the fastest to score valuable points, securing the title in the following race.

2. LAKESIDE, 1981

Dick Johnson and Peter Brock’s battle for the 1981 title came down to a Lakeside finale, with Johnson winning on home soil for his first championship win. The Ford driver resisted race-long pressure from the Commodore of Brock for a famous win.

1. NEWCASTLE, 2017

The championship was settled on the final lap of the final race in Newcastle. Scott McLaughlin tangled with Craig Lowndes and was duly penalised, dropping him down the order and handing the title to race winner Jamie Whincup.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #107 within Australia to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #107 within New Zealand to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #107 for the rest of the world to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #107 at your nearest store to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #107 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
261 -27
3. Chaz Mostert
234 -54
4. Cameron Waters
231 -57
5. Will Davison
231 -57
6. David Reynolds
210 -78
7. Lee Holdsworth
171 -117
8. Mark Winterbottom
162 -126
9. Fabian Coulthard
162 -126
10. Rick Kelly
150 -138

Full championship standings