JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Monday, 17 September 2018 00:16

Blue Oval: Will the Falcon take a farewell win?


The Ford Falcon enters its final endurance campaign looking to add to its storied history at Mount Panorama, Bathurst, and take a 17th drivers’ championship, as we profile in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #106.

CLICK HERE for details on issue #106.

Ford entrants will replace the Falcon with the Mustang in 2019, bringing to an end the five-decade history of the Falcon nameplate at Mount Panorama.

The Falcon scored its first win in Australia’s Great Race on debut with Harry Firth and Fred Gibson in 1967. The victory for the XR GT model was the first success for a V8 engine in the event and ushered in the era of Australian-built cars conquering the Mountain.

The Falcon has won the Bathurst 500/1000 14 times, including some of the most famous wins in the history of the Great Race: Allan Moffat’s solo efforts in 1970 and 1971, the first event run to 1000 kilometres in 1973, the one- two formation finish in 1977, Dick Johnson’s redemption in 1981, Stone Brothers Racing’s surprise win in 1998 and Triple Eight’s three-peat in 2006 to 2008.

The most recent win for the Falcon was courtesy of Chaz Mostert and Paul Morris in 2014, fighting back from 25th on the grid and an early-race incident to snatch the lead from an out-of-fuel Jamie Whincup on the final lap.

The Falcon claimed its maiden PIRTEK Enduro Cup win with Mostert and Steve Owen last season. While Tickford Racing gave the Falcon its most recent Bathurst wins in 2013 and 2014, DJR Team Penske has not won at Mount Panorama since Dick Johnson Racing’s last win in 1994.

DJR Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin is in the box seat to give the Falcon a final drivers’ championship win, though he faces a tough challenge from Triple Eight Race Engineering and its speedy Holden ZB Commodores. Fittingly, it would be the 17th championship win for the Falcon courtesy of the driver of the iconic #17, made famous by Ford legend Johnson.

The Falcon and Commodore are equal on 16 drivers’ championship wins at present, with a 17th championship win over its great rival a fitting farewell to the Falcon.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #106 within Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #106 within New Zealand.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #106 for the rest of the world.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #106 at your nearest store.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #106.




Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings