JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Tuesday, 07 August 2018 11:20

News: Brock cars to be auctioned at Bathurst


An extremely rare piece of motoring history is set to turn the clock back on a year that saw Australian car manufacturing close down.

As we commemorate the 50th anniversary of HDT which was once known as the Holden Dealer Team, a collection of Peter Brock race cars amassed by HDT Owner Peter Champion and his mate Brock himself, will be put to auction with hopes of funding a revival of Australian car manufacturing. 

“I am honored to be a part of this once in a lifetime event and the idea that this iconic collection of Peter Brock’s cars can continue his legacy by reigniting car manufacturing in Australia after Holden’s closure in 2017,” says Champion, founder of the Brock Collection. 

After an amazing year for collectors, Lloyds Classic Car Auctions have been appointed to offer this one-off collection. 

“Our recent sale of the Ford GTHO Phase 3 Falcon selling for over $1 million shows that the interest and passion for Australian-made cars is still there and Lloyds Classic Car Auctions are excited to be part of this great movement,” says head Auctioneer Bill Freeman. 

“We want to take these extremely rare cars on tour and display them across the country in coming weeks, in what could be the last time ever to see them all together! This auction has a purpose and not only honors Brocky but will mark a truly special time in Aussie motoring history for enthusiasts in years to come.” 

The cars in this collection are rare and very well known to Brock fans around the world, including Brock’s most famous ride ‘The Big Banger’ along with many more that have dominated the Bathurst race track. As cars raced in Bathurst by the ‘King of the Mountain’ it is only fitting that these cars will then be returned to their home and auctioned in the reflection of Mount Panorama. 

Keep an eye out on the Lloyds website for further information to be released soon: https://www.lloydsauctions.com.au/classic-cars/


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings