JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Saturday, 04 August 2018 22:15

Analysis: The Bend is nigh


The Bend Motorsport Park will raise the bar for motorsport facilities in Australia when it hosts the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship for the first time on August 24 to 26, as we examine in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #105.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #105. 

The $110-million motorsport precinct at Tailem Bend in South Australia, 100km south-east of Adelaide, held its first motorsport event in April and was widely praised.

The Bend Motorsport Park features four different circuit configurations, including the 7.7km 'GT Circuit' (the second longest permanent race track in the world behind the Nordschleife, Nurburgring), with Supercars set to race on the 4.95km 'International Circuit'.

Tekno Autosports’ Jack Le Brocq claimed the first motorsport race win on the 'International Circuit', in a Tekno-owned Group A Ford Sierra in the Heritage Touring Car category as part of the Shannons Nationals round.

“It’s pretty unique in the way it’s been built,” explains Le Brocq on The Bend Motorsport Park.

“It’s quite undulating in a number of spots, with blind corners and apexes, which makes it very interesting. This will make it good for racing as there are a couple of spots where you could get down the inside but then opening up the crossover option.

“The grip from the track surface will improve by the time we get there in August, so we will see a few different lines on a number of corners and that will lend itself to good racing and the chance for us to really make a difference and attack.”

Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Jamie Whincup also got a taste of the circuit and described it as the best permanent “F1-style circuit” in Australia.

The facilities themselves, still under completion when hosting the Shannons Nationals, include a drift kart rallycross circuit, four-wheel drive adventure park, dragway and a business park, including a Rydges hotel overlooking the circuit above pitlane.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #105 within Australia to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #105 within New Zealand to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #105 for the rest of the world to read the feature.

CLICK HERE to find where to purchase issue #105 at your nearest store.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #105 to read the feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings