JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Print this page
Thursday, 24 May 2018 17:41

Group C: The greatest era of Australian touring cars


Forty-five years ago, Australian touring cars unified under the Group C regulations.

Group C merged the Series Production and Improved Production rulebooks into one, meaning that for the first time the same regulations would apply to the Australian Touring Car Championship and Bathurst 1000.

Cars sold in the local marketplace replaced the imported muscle cars that had dominated the championship, intensifying the Ford versus Holden rivalry and adding variety to the grid through different classes.

The Great Race at Mount Panorama would be increased from 500 miles to 1000 kilometres and winners such as Allan Moffat, Peter Brock, Jim Richards, Bob Morris, Dick Johnson and more became household names.

Supercar Xtra Magazine issue #104 presents a snapshot of the 12-year Group C era that is widely considered the greatest of Australian touring cars in its rebranded Motorsport Legends section.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #104.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #104 within Australia to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #104 within New Zealand to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #104 for the rest of the world to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #104 to read the full feature.