JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Thursday, 24 May 2018 17:41

Group C: The greatest era of Australian touring cars


Forty-five years ago, Australian touring cars unified under the Group C regulations.

Group C merged the Series Production and Improved Production rulebooks into one, meaning that for the first time the same regulations would apply to the Australian Touring Car Championship and Bathurst 1000.

Cars sold in the local marketplace replaced the imported muscle cars that had dominated the championship, intensifying the Ford versus Holden rivalry and adding variety to the grid through different classes.

The Great Race at Mount Panorama would be increased from 500 miles to 1000 kilometres and winners such as Allan Moffat, Peter Brock, Jim Richards, Bob Morris, Dick Johnson and more became household names.

Supercar Xtra Magazine issue #104 presents a snapshot of the 12-year Group C era that is widely considered the greatest of Australian touring cars in its rebranded Motorsport Legends section.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #104.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #104 within Australia to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #104 within New Zealand to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #104 for the rest of the world to read the full feature.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #104 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings