JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Tuesday, 20 March 2018 14:23

Column: Winterbottom on racing more in 2018


The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship schedule is the biggest in the history of the category with the addition of the Coates Hire Melbourne 400 at the Australian Grand Prix and The Bend Motorsport Park. Mark Winterbottom discusses the schedule and new events for this season in his column in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #103.

Issue #103 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #103.

“We drivers just want to race as often as possible, every weekend if we can, so the addition of two more Supercars championship events is a winner for all of us,” writes Winterbottom.

“The Australian Grand Prix support races and The Bend Motorsport Park beef up
the Supercars championship schedule in 2018, adding to an already strong calendar of events.

The format for the Australian Grand Prix will be interesting with two sprint races and two longer races, but there’s sure to be more intensity with championship points on the line.

“We normally roll out of Adelaide and use the races at Albert Park as an extended test session, trying new setups and the like, but now we won’t have that luxury.

“We finished last season strongly with the pole position in Newcastle, confirming that we had the outright pace but not necessarily the consistent pace over the course of a race.

“We have lots of little areas we need to improve on to address that into 2018 and I’m definitely hungry to get back onto the top step of the podium.

“Richie Stanaway joins Chaz Mostert, Cameron Waters and
I in 2018 and the arrival of someone new into the team always brings new ideas and new motivations, so let’s see how we go!”

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #103 to read the full column.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
261 -27
3. Chaz Mostert
234 -54
4. Cameron Waters
231 -57
5. Will Davison
231 -57
6. David Reynolds
210 -78
7. Lee Holdsworth
171 -117
8. Mark Winterbottom
162 -126
9. Fabian Coulthard
162 -126
10. Rick Kelly
150 -138

Full championship standings