JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Thursday, 08 March 2018 15:46

Flashbacks: Decade-on anniversaries


As we settle into the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship season, we take a look back at the key decade-on anniversaries in Australian touring cars in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #103.

Issue #103 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #103.

The 1968 Australian Touring Car Championship would be decided by a 34-lap race at Warwick Farm in New South Wales, the final time the title would be decided by a single race.

Ian Geoghegan raced away from the start as the challengers fell by the wayside with a high attrition rate. Geoghegan went on to win by a minute and a half for his third consecutive title.

In 1978, Peter Brock rounded out a championship-winning year with victory in the Bathurst 1000 alongside new co-driver Jim Richards, their first together and the start of a dominant era for the Holden Dealer Team at Mount Panorama.

The Ford Sierra won every round of the 1988 Australian Touring Car Championship. Dick Johnson Racing won eight of the nine races, with six to champion Dick Johnson and two to teammate John Bowe, including five one-twos. The only non-Dick Johnson Racing race win went to Tony Longhurst, who also claimed victory at the Bathurst 1000.

Craig Lowndes returned from a season racing in European Formula 3000 and continued where he left off in 1998, winning his second title from his second attempt.

Jamie Whincup secured his first title at the Oran Park finale in 2008. The event marked a changing of the guard in more ways than one, with Mark Skaife retiring from full-time driving at the final-ever round at the circuit.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #103 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings