JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Monday, 05 March 2018 17:57

Analysis: Generation change in Supercars in 2018


The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship grid has had an injection of new blood with one of the biggest generation changes underway in 2018, as we examine in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #103.

Issue #103 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #103.

The five full-time rookies are: Anton De Pasquale (Erebus Motorsport), Todd Hazelwood (Matt Stone Racing), Richie Stanaway (Tickford Racing), James Golding (Garry Rogers Motorsport) and Jack Le Brocq (Tekno Autosports). Also, youngster Andre Heimgartner returns to the category as a full-time driver at Nissan Motorsport.

Their ages range between 22 and 26 years and each has earned their place in the main game of Supercars with impressive pedigrees, highlighting the success of Super2, the Pirtek Endurance Cup and wildcard initiative in accelerating the development of new talent.

With the retirement of veterans Todd Kelly and Jason Bright, the average age of the grid from the final round of 2017 season at the Newcastle 500 to the start of the 2018 season at the Adelaide 500 drops from 33 years to 30 years.

Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander are the only drivers in the 40-plus age bracket, with James Courtney, Will Davison, Mark Winterbottom and Fabian Coulthard the other over 35s.

And with DJR Team Penske and Erebus Motorsport hitting their straps in 2017 and the rebranding of Tickford Racing and Walkinshaw Andretti United, there’s also a change on the teams’ front.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #103 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings