JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Monday, 26 February 2018 20:00

Adelaide 500: Iconic moments from two decades


To celebrate 20 years of the Adelaide 500, we look back at 20 iconic moments from the event on the streets of the capital of South Australia in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #103.

Issue #103 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #103.

V8 Supercars debuted on the streets of Adelaide in 1999 with a weekend crowd of 162,000 proving the event would be a success.

The Holden Racing Team’s Craig Lowndes won the first leg only to be demoted to the back of the grid for tangling with a backmarker. He fought back in the second leg to claim a famous win as other drivers struggled to deal with the conditions.

Turn 8 became the danger spot on the Adelaide street circuit with a number of accidents at the fast right-hander. Brad Jones, in his team’s third event in V8 Supercars in 2000, fell victim to the corner when he carried too much speed on entry and sideswiped the tyre bundle, sending him into a rollover and onto his roof.

Mark Skaife repeated his Holden Racing Team teammate Lowndes’ heroics in 2000. Skaife failed to finish the first leg, forcing him to start the second leg in 36th for what would be the first wet race at the event. Skaife showed his class in the tough conditions to climb through the field for the win.

Lowndes defected to Ford in 2001, adding to the rivalry between the Blue Oval and the General. Lowndes won the Saturday race in Adelaide in 2001, though his Sunday race came to an end following a collision with former teammate Skaife.

The Adelaide 500 had established itself as a marquee event on the Supercars schedule with plenty more drama to follow.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #103 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings