JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Wednesday, 31 January 2018 19:55

Column: Lowndes on his passion for Mount Panorama


Craig Lowndes has won the Bathurst 1000 six times and the Bathurst 12 Hour three times. He describes his passion for Mount Panorama in his latest column in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #102.

Issue #102 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #102.

“It’s the one that you want to win even more if you aren’t in the championship race, as you always want to win one of the big races and Bathurst has always been the big prize for me,” he writes.

“The passion for Bathurst remains as strong as ever. It’s a race I dreamt of winning for years and I have been fortunate enough to win it multiple times. The possibility of getting near Peter Brock’s record of wins is also in the back of my mind.”

Lowndes is determined to race on at Mount Panorama beyond his full-time Supercars driving career, with co-driving opportunities and the Bathurst 12 Hour likely to extend his career.

“Our sport allows us to race on at Bathurst beyond our full-time driving careers,” he states.

“There’s no doubt in my mind that I would like to still be co-driving in the endurance events once I step down from full-time Supercars. This means I could race on into my 50s, as Peter Brock, Jim Richards, Larry Perkins, Dick Johnson and co did with some success.

“It will all come down to being competitive in the car, to make sure that whoever I am racing for and teaming up with will know I am in contention of a podium or a win.

“Being competitive and up the front is an important factor in racing on in the championship and at Bathurst, while the excitement of racing cars and in being part of a team is still there for me.”

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #102 to read the column.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings