JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Thursday, 28 December 2017 20:45

Erebus Motorsport: Conquering Mount Panorama


Erebus Motorsport won the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and was often the next-best Holden team behind Red Bull Holden Racing Team in 2017. It’s an impressive feat for one of the smallest teams in Supercars, as we examine in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #102.

Issue #102 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #102.

Erebus Motorsport: winner of the 2017 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000. It’s amazing to read that, let alone picture Luke Youlden piggybacking David Reynolds on to the top step.

In a year where big operations have won virtually every race and claimed almost every pole position, a small team of self-described rejects pops up and qualifies on the front row at Mount Panorama and then wins the biggest Supercars race of them all.

And just for good measure the team’s second entry, Dale Wood and Chris Pither, finishes fourth, making Erebus Motorsport the most successful entrant in the race, let alone the most successful Holden team.

“I think there’s always some luck in winning Bathurst,” concedes Erebus Motorsport general manager Barry Ryan.

“But we were fast from the word go. We were fastest in one of the practices, Luke was in the top six in co-driver practice, Dave qualified second fastest and we started on the front row. We deserved to be there.

“Sunday morning, we genuinely thought the only car that could beat us on pace was #17 (Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat in the pole qualifying DJR Team Penske Ford Falcon FG X), so we knew we had a shot.”

Then he smiles: “We were really upset when they went out with their engine.”

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #102 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
261 -27
3. Chaz Mostert
234 -54
4. Cameron Waters
231 -57
5. Will Davison
231 -57
6. David Reynolds
210 -78
7. Lee Holdsworth
171 -117
8. Mark Winterbottom
162 -126
9. Fabian Coulthard
162 -126
10. Rick Kelly
150 -138

Full championship standings