JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Wednesday, 20 December 2017 10:27

Blue bloods: The new generation of Ford stars


Holdens outnumbered Fords 16 to six on the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship grid, but that hasn’t stopped Blue Oval fans from having plenty to cheer about: Scott McLaughlin leading the way in his first season with DJR Team Penske, Chaz Mostert back to winning ways, Cameron Waters and Richie Stanaway rising to the fore and Ford winning the manufacturers’ title for the first time since 2009. We profile the rise of these Ford drivers in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #102.

Issue #102 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #102.

At the home of Australian motorsport, where fans are at their most die-hard and Ford and Holden battle lines are still firmly drawn, all six of the Falcon’s in the Supercars field made Bathurst’s top 10 Shootout.

Two of the top three teams in the sport prepare those six cars and the renewed success of Blue Oval stables DJR Team Penske and Prodrive Racing Australia (PRA) is propelling Ford to championship success. And all during a period in history when Ford has withdrawn its funding to both teams.

Complimenting this Falcon resurgence, led by the well-resourced DJR Team Penske, is a string of young stars led by McLaughlin. The Kiwi has taken his considerable talent to a new level in 2017, transitioning quickly from team new-boy to championship benchmark.

“It’s been a whirlwind year,” he says. “It started off not as good as I wanted to but the team that I’ve had around me, I can’t thank them all enough. It’s really changed me as a person, as a driver. To have my family still beside me all the way and to everyone who has supported me, it’s just great.”

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #102 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint June 27-28
Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint July 18-19
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown August 15-16
CoreStaff Darwin SuperSprint August 22-23
NTI Townsville SuperSprint August 29-30
Townsville SuperSprint September 5-6
The Bend Motorsport Park September 19-20
The Bend Motorsport Park September 26-27
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 15-18



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
1847 -215
3. Cameron Waters
1577 -485
4. Shane van Gisbergen
1555 -507
5. Chaz Mostert
1524 -538
6. Fabian Coulthard 
1444 -618
7. Nick Percat
1425 -637
8. David Reynolds
1298 -764
9. Lee Holdsworth
1261 -801
10. Scott Pye
1258 -804

Full championship standings