JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Thursday, 19 October 2017 10:09

Event preview: 2017 Vodafone Gold Coast 600


The Pirtek Endurance Cup will be awarded on the Gold Coast as the long-distance events wrap up on the high-speed and concrete-lined streets of Surfers Paradise.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #100 is your must-have guide to the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 and Pirtek Endurance Cup, including event previews, team profiles, driver line-up, records, statistics and more.

Issue #100 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #100.

It's an unforgiving circuit where the smallest mistakes can be punished with big consequences, as both full-timers and co-drivers have found out over the years.

The Gold Coast hosted non-championship races on the IndyCar/CART support bill from 1991 to 2001 before the round was included in the V8 Supercars championship race from 2002.

With the IndyCar Series moving on and A1 Grand Prix unable to fill the void left in 2009, V8 Supercars became the main attraction. The track was shortened from 4.47km to 2.96km and was rebranded as the Gold Coast 600 in 2010, featuring two 300km races and international drivers as co-drivers.

The international co-driver component was dropped for 2013 and the event included in the Pirtek Endurance Cup alongside Sandown and Bathurst. With the Pirtek Endurance Cup on the line and the championship reaching its climax, look for plenty of action on the streets of Surfers Paradise.

CLICK HERE for 2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup entry list.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #100 to read the full preview.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3310 -562
3. Jamie Whincup
3208 -664
4. Fabian Coulthard
3058 -814
5. Chaz Mostert
2879 -993
6. David Reynolds
2694 -1178
7. Cameron Waters
2588 -1284
8. Will Davison
2495 -1377
9. Nick Percat
2445 -1427
10. Lee Holdsworth
2428 -1444

Full championship standings