JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Print this page
Saturday, 23 September 2017 14:10

Flashback! Decade-on endurance anniversaries


In the midst of the 2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup, we take a look back at the key decade-on anniversaries from the long-distance races over the years in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #100.

Issue #100 is your must-have guide to the Pirtek Endurance Cup, including event previews, team profiles, driver line-up, records, statistics and more.

Issue #100 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #100.

Australian-built V8 muscle cars arrived in 1967 in the shape of the Ford XR Falcon GT with the backing of Ford Australia and a strong driver line-up that included team boss Harry Firth and co-driver Fred Gibson, winners of the Bathurst 1000.

Ford was again unstoppable at Mount Panorama in 1977 with Allan Moffat and co-driver Jacky Ickx leading home teammates Colin Bond and Alan Hamilton in the first one-two formation finish in the event's history.

The internationals arrived at Mount Panorama for a round of the World Touring Car Championship with the Eggenberger Motorsport team dominating proceedings to take a comfortable one-two finish. But its Sierras were disqualified for illegal wheel-arch modifications and Peter Brock was handed his ninth and final Great Race win.

Two Bathurst 1000s were held within two weeks of each other in 1997 as two variations of Australian touring cars fought over the rights to the endurance classic.

In the one corner, the two-litre Super Touring championship with the support of race organisers the Australian Racing Drivers Club, long-time Bathurst broadcasters Channel Seven and manufacturers shut out of the rebranded V8 Supercars, such as BMW, Audi, Volvo and more. In the other corner, V8 Supercars, Ford and Holden and their new broadcaster Network Ten. Perkins Engineering claimed its third Bathurst win in five years with Larry Perkins and Russell Ingall winning in the V8 Supercar 1000.

In 2007, Craig Lowndes held off the fast-finishing Steven Johnson, Greg Murphy and James Courtney to give Triple Eight three endurance wins in a row and back-to-back Bathurst 1000 victories.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #100 to read the full feature.