JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 17585
Wednesday, 20 September 2017 10:54

Going wild: Next-generation Aussie racers


Supercars' wildcard initiative has been widely praised for good reason. In allowing wildcard entries into select sprint rounds, the series is not only harking back to the glory days of wildcards but also giving youngsters such as James Golding, Jack Le Brocq, Shae Davies, Todd Hazelwood and Macauley Jones a better transition into the main game.

So while New Zealanders Scott McLaughlin, Shane van Gisbergen, Fabian Coulthard and now Richie Stanaway are taking Supercars by storm, the wildcard initiative and now the Pirtek Endurance Cup is giving a chance for the next-generation Australian racers to show their talent.

Issue #100 is your must-have guide to the Pirtek Endurance Cup, including event previews, team profiles, driver line-up, records, statistics and more.

Issue #100 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #100.

With Supercars one of the most competitive touring-car series in the world and with a stellar line-up of drivers, cracking the main game can be extremely tough. So this year's wildcard initiative to allow non-main-game drivers to compete at nominated rounds looks like a win-win for the series, the fans and the drivers and teams taking part.

Five young drivers took up the opportunity to contest selected rounds of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship in 2017 in the hope they can do enough to press their claims for full-time drives in 2018.

We interview Golding, Le Brocq, Davies, Hazelwood and Jones to discuss their progress in 2017 and how their plans for full-time drives in Supercars are aligning.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #100 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 20-23
Melbourne 400 March 12-15
Tyrepower Tasmania Super400  April 3-5
ITM Auckland Super400 April 24-26
PIRTEK Perth SuperNight May 15-17
Truck Assist Winton Super400 June 5-7
Watpac Townsville 400 June 26-28
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown July 17-19
Sydney SuperNight August 28-30
OTR The Bend 500 September 18-20
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 8-11
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Oct. 30-Nov. 1
Penrite Oil Sandown Super400  November 20-22
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 December 4-6



1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Jamie Whincup
261 -27
3. Chaz Mostert
234 -54
4. Cameron Waters
231 -57
5. Will Davison
231 -57
6. David Reynolds
210 -78
7. Lee Holdsworth
171 -117
8. Mark Winterbottom
162 -126
9. Fabian Coulthard
162 -126
10. Rick Kelly
150 -138

Full championship standings