Wednesday, 17 January 2018 10:28

Shootout: Ranking the top 10 legendary team owners


The likes of Harry Firth, Roland Dane, Tom Walkinshaw, Fred Gibson, Larry Perkins, Dick Johnson and more changed the face of Australian touring cars with their pioneering stints as team owners.

V8X Supercar Magazine ranks the top 10 legendary team owners of Australian touring cars in the 'Shootout' section of issue #102.

Issue #102 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #102.

Firth, ‘The Fox’, founded the Ford and Holden factory teams, playing a vital role in the growth of Australian motorsport through the Bathurst 500/1000 inthe 1960s. Ford won four of the first five Bathurst 500s under his leadership before he switched to lead the Holden Dealer Team to the top.

Perkins turned the engineering nous he demonstrated at the Holden Dealer Team into his own Perkins Engineering operation from 1986, going on to win three Bathurst 1000s between 1993 and 1997.

Walkinshaw’s team won Bathurst with Jaguar in 1985 before the Scotsman played a key role in the formation of the Holden Racing Team and HSV Dealer Teams, winning multiple drivers’ championships and Bathurst 1000s.

Johnson’s team, founded in 1980, has gone through a number of peaks and troughs over the years, winning multiple championships and Bathursts as Dick Johnson Racing and now adding to its trophy cabinet as DJR Team Penske.

Dane’s Triple Eight Race Engineering team arrived in Australia in 2003 and soon set a new standard in Supercars, becoming the benchmark team through stints with Ford and now as the sole Holden factory-backed team.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #102 to read the full feature.



Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 28-March 3
Melbourne 400 March 14-17
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint April 5-7
WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint April 12-14
Perth SuperNight May 2-4
Winton SuperSprint May 24-26
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown June 14-16
Watpac Townsville 400 July 5-7
Ipswich SuperSprint July 26-28
The Bend SuperSprint August 23-25
ITM Auckland SuperSprint September 13-15
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 10-13
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 October 25-27
Sandown 500 November 8-10
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 November 22-24







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Rick Kelly



 Fabian Coulthard



 Nick Percat


 Full points table