Thursday, 28 September 2017 17:03

Shootout: Ranking the top 10 endurance masters


Brock, Johnson, Moffat, Richards, Perkins and more... these drivers became legends through their heroics in endurance races, particularly the Bathurst 1000 at Mount Panorama Circuit.

V8X Supercar Magazine ranks the top 10 endurance masters of Australian touring cars in the 'Shootout' section of issue #100.

Issue #100 is your must-have guide to the Pirtek Endurance Cup, including event previews, team profiles, driver line-up, records, statistics and more.

Issue #100 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #100.

Peter Brock's endurance record speaks for itself – nine victories in the Bathurst 500/1000, nine Sandown 400/500 wins and a victory in the Bathurst 24 Hour. He still holds the record for the most wins at Sandown and Bathurst. Deservedly proclaimed the 'King of the Mountain'.

Dick Johnson put the heartbreak of his tangle with a rock behind him to win three Bathurst 1000s for Ford. He also notched up back-to-back Sandown 500 wins in 1994 and 1995 and a win in the Eastern Creek 12 Hour in 1995.

There were 10 wins across the Sandown and Bathurst endurance races for the Canadian-born Ford favourite, Allan Moffat. He also won the Sebring 12 Hour outright and scored class wins at the Spa 24 Hour and Daytona 24 Hour events.

Jim Richards is the only driver to win the Bathurst 1000 for three different manufacturers (Holden, Nissan, Volvo). He also scored a class win and Sandown 500 victory for BMW for a total of seven Bathurst wins and two Sandown wins.

Larry Perkins won three Bathursts on the trot with Peter Brock, then went his own way with his Perkins Engineering team, which would become a formidable endurance specialist and boost his Bathurst tally by another three wins. He also finished fourth outright in the Le Mans 24 Hour.

Also included in issue #100 is a special 'Masters of Endurance' poster featuring the drivers to win both the Sandown and Bathurst endurance events multiple times.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #100 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Scott Pye



 Nick Percat


 Full points table