Tuesday, 12 September 2017 14:13

Event preview: 2017 Wilson Security Sandown 500


The 2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup gets underway at the home of the traditional Bathurst precursor, Sandown International Raceway.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #100 is your must-have guide to the Pirtek Endurance Cup, including event previews, team profiles, driver line-up, records, statistics and more.

Issue #100 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #100.

The joint motorsport and horse-racing facility challenges drivers, with the two long straights testing horsepower and the fast sweeper at Dandenong Road testing drivers.

Sandown's pedigree is in endurance racing, having first hosted an international six-hour touring-car race, which eventually became the Sandown 500, in 1964. The circuit became the traditional lead-in race to the Bathurst 1000 over the following years and first ran to 500 kilometres in 1984.

The 500km enduro went to Queensland Raceway from 1999 to 2002 and Phillip Island from 2008 to 2011, though the Sandown 500 returned to the championship calendar in 2012.

Expect the unexpected at Sandown. It's the first endurance hit-out of the season and the need to compromise on car setup for straight-line speed and handling, plus variable weather, often results in varied results.

Just two of the last 30 Sandown races have been won by the car starting on pole – Craig Lowndes/Greg Murphy for the Holden Racing Team in 1996 and Jamie Whincup/ Paul Dumbrell for Triple Eight in 2014 – highlighting the unpredictability of the event.

Grid positions will once again be determined by two 60km qualifying races, one for the co-drivers and one for the main drivers. The finishing order for the latter sets the grid for the Sandown 500.

CLICK HERE for 2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup entry list. 

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #100 to read the full preview.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table