Sunday, 02 July 2017 16:13

Rivalries: Greatest team battles of yesteryear


Triple Eight Race Engineering versus DJR Team Penske shapes as a rivalry set to dominate Supercars in the coming years. With this in mind, we take a look back at the greatest team rivalries of yesteryear in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #99.

Issue #99 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #99.

Allan Moffat Racing versus Holden Dealer Team was the original Ford versus Holden rivalry. The rise of Peter Brock at the Holden Dealer Team provided Ford's Allan Moffat with his biggest challenger. Their rivalry dominated the 1970s with Brock in the Torana and Moffat in the Falcon trading Bathurst wins. Colin Bond's defection from the Holden Dealer Team to Moffat's Ford squad only increased tensions between the two outfits.

Dick Johnson took over the mantle as Blue Oval's main challenger from Moffat to continue the Ford versus Holden rivalry into the 1980s. The battle reached its peak in the final-round showdown for the 1981 title at Lakeside, where Johnson triumphed over Brock. But Brock ruled at Mount Panorama with three wins on the trot from 1982 to 1984.

Other team rivalries we profile include: Total Team versus Neptune Racing Team, Bob Jane Racing Team versus Allan Moffat Racing, Holden Dealer Team versus Ron Hodgson Motors, Dick Johnson Racing versus Gibson Motorsport, Glenn Seton Racing versus Dick Johnson Racing, Holden Racing Team versus Perkins Engineering, Triple Eight versus HSV Dealer Team/Holden Racing Team and Triple Eight versus Ford Performance Racing/Prodrive Racing Australia.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #99 to read the full article.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table