Saturday, 17 June 2017 23:10

DJR Team Penske vs Triple Eight: Bring it on!


Triple Eight Race Engineering's place at the top of Supercars is under threat like never before from DJR Team Penske. V8X Supercar Magazine examines the titanic battle for supremacy in Supercars in issue #99.

Issue #99 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #99.

Star Wars maestro George Lucas couldn't have scripted the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship better.

Triple Eight Race Engineering has dominated the series for the past decade and was awarded sole factory-backed status from Holden this season for the Red Bull Holden Racing Team.

However, a new arrival, Team Penske, comes from a land far, far away and brings with it powers and riches never before seen in motorsport in this country. And, just like the intergalactic combat of Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker, the war between Triple Eight's Roland Dane and DJR Team Penske's Ryan Story is set to explode.

The on-track battles between Red Bull Holden Racing Team's Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup and DJR Team Penske's Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard may be what we see, but rest assured the war between the personnel under the headsets is just as fierce.

"Bring it on!" says Dane. "Let's have a good stoush and see where we end up! We'll lose some and we'll win some and see what happens... nobody can win all the time, and nor should they be able to, but I can assure you we'll raise our game and continue to as much as we're physically able to do so. We're certainly not scared of competition."

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #99 to read the feature.

The print edition of issue #99 also includes a pullout poster featuring the DJR Team Penske and Red Bull Holden Racing Team entries on either side.

CLICK HERE to purchase the posters.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Scott Pye



 Nick Percat


 Full points table