Print this page
Thursday, 01 June 2017 12:06

Shootout: Open-wheel and touring-car stars


Success in one discipline of motorsport is hard enough. Yet some drivers can lay claim to winning runs in very different forms of motorsport, such as open wheelers and touring cars. V8X Supercar Magazine ranks the top 10 open-wheel and touring-car stars in Australia in issue #98.

Issue #98 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #98.

Alan Jones became the second Australian to win a Formula 1 title in 1980. After 12 grand prix wins, he transitioned into touring cars where he finished runner-up in the championship in 1993 and claimed two podiums at Bathurst.

Mark Skaife was the only driver to win the Australian Drivers' Championship and Australian Touring Car Championship in the same year in 1992. He won three Australian Drivers' Championship titles, five touring-car titles and six Bathurst 1000s.

After winning the Australian Formula Ford, Australian Formula 2 and European Formula 3 titles, Larry Perkins progressed into Formula 1 for 11 grand prix starts. He then returned to Australia to commence a touring-car career that included six Bathurst 1000 wins.

Winning the Formula Ford title and contending in Formula Holden paved the way for Craig Lowndes to star in his arrival in touring cars, which then prompted a move to Europe to race in Formula 3000 before returning to V8 Supercars.

After winning Formula Ford and Formula Holden titles and the Bathurst 1000, Jason Bright's open-wheel career continued in North America with a race-winning stint in Indy Lights and a ChampCar appearance on the Gold Coast before returning to V8 Supercars.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #98 to read the feature and see the rankings.