JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Sunday, 27 November 2016 00:00

Shootout: Top 10 moments at Sydney Olympic Park


The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship farewells the Sydney Olympic Park street circuit this weekend.

Surrounding the complex that hosted the 2000 Olympics, the circuit has hosted the Supercars season finale from 2009 to 2016 and will be replaced by Newcastle from 2017.

V8X Supercar Magazine ranks the top 10 memorable moments at Sydney Olympic Park in issue #95.

Issue #95 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #95.

As the season finale, Sydney Olympic Park hosted a number of championship deciders, including the most memorable in 2010.

James Courtney (pictured above), Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom were battling for the championship at the front of the field in the Saturday race when they were caught out on slicks when the heavens opened.

They followed each other into the wall in dramatic fashion, with the subsequent race to repair their cars and grab some valuable points undoubtedly resulting in the most dramatic moments we've seen in Sydney. Courtney eventually won out for an emotion-charged championship for Dick Johnson Racing.

Other memorable moments include Scott McLaughlin's double duty in the Dunlop Series and main game on the same day; Lee Holdsworth's run of pole positions; Jonathon Webb's win in the wet in 2010; Winterbottom's championship success in 2015; and more.

Where do these memorable moments rank? And which other moments are included in the top 10?

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #95 to find out.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table