JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Saturday, 08 October 2016 00:00

Triple Eight: Decade of dominance, 2006-2016


Triple Eight Race Engineering's breakthrough Bathurst 1000 win in 2006 marked the beginning of a dominant period for the Roland Dane-led team of Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup.

A decade on, V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94 looks at the Triple Eight reign and compares the current powerhouse team to past multiple Bathurst-winning outfits.

Issue #94 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94.

Triple Eight took over from Briggs Motorsport at Sandown in 2003. Two years on, big-name recruit Lowndes and co-driver Yvan Muller took the win in the Sandown 500.

They looked on course for a Bathurst victory a month later, though Lowndes brushed the wall while leading in what culminated in a disastrous campaign for the #888 entry.

The following year, off the back of the emotion of Peter Brock's death and Lowndes' key role in the tributes to his mentor, the Lowndes and Whincup combination held off Rick and Todd Kelly for an emotion-charged win.

While the headlines spoke of Brock's protégé holding aloft the first Peter Brock Trophy, Triple Eight had officially arrived. As Dane said upon reflection, "The win set us up as a truly top team." Few could have expected the level of dominance Triple Eight would achieve over the next decade.

Since 2006, Whincup has won a record-breaking six championships. In the other four championships over that decade, Lowndes or Whincup have finished runner-up in the standings having lost out to their rivals in the final round of those seasons.

At the Bathurst 1000, Triple Eight entries have finished in the top five at each attempt since 2006 – podiums at all but two attempts with six wins in total.

Triple Eight has not only won seven of the last eight teams' championships and Whincup's record-breaking six titles, but another Bathurst win in 2016 puts the team level with the total wins for Ford works/dealer teams and Holden Racing Team/Kmart Racing on seven each and just two shy of the Holden Dealer Team.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94 to read the full feature.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table