JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Print this page
Monday, 03 October 2016 00:00

By the numbers: 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000


Records, anniversaries, milestones and more... V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94 takes a look at the numbers that matter for the 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94 is a special Bathurst 1000 edition featuring the key developments over the history of the event, preview of the 2016 race, the honour roll, records and facts from the Great Race and more.

Issue #94 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94


Victory for Craig Lowndes will elevate him to equal second on the all-time Bathurst wins' list alongside Jim Richards with seven victories. If that happens, co-driver Steven Richards will move to five wins and sixth on the all-time wins' list.


Lowndes rewrote the record books in 2015. His win took him to the top of the all-time Bathurst podiums list with 13 rostrums, one ahead of Peter Brock, Larry Perkins and Jim Richards. Lowndes has also won the most championship races at Mount Panorama with his fifth win last season. If he qualifies in the top 10, Lowndes will also equal Brock on 17 shootout appearances and third on the all-time list.


Steve Richards and Russell Ingall are the most experienced drivers at Mount Panorama. The former winners will compete in their 24th Bathurst 1000s in 2016. 


Just three teams have won the last 15 Bathurst 1000s: entries from Walkinshaw Racing (Holden Racing Team and Kmart Racing), Triple Eight Race Engineering and Ford Performance Racing (Prodrive Racing Australia). The last time another team won the event was Garry Rogers Motorsport in 2000.


Holden became the first manufacturer to notch up 30 Great Race wins in 2015, leaving rival Ford on 19 wins. Yet the Blue Oval did move ahead of the all-time pole positions list on 23, one ahead of Holden.

2:04.9097 & 2:07.1226

The practice/qualifying and race lap records set by Triple Eight Race Engineering's Jamie Whincup in 2015.


The 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 will be the 40th time the polesitter is determined by the shootout qualifying format.


Seven different drivers have taken the last seven pole positions at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 – Garth Tander, Mark Winterbottom, Greg Murphy, Will Davison, Jamie Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen and David Reynolds. The last time the car that started on pole position won the event was 2009 with the Holden Racing Team's Tander and Will Davison. Could we see an eighth different polesitter in eight years?


James Courtney and Cameron McConville notch up their 150th round starts at the event, while Jamie Whincup makes his 400th race start and Nick Percat brings up his 100th race. Garth Tander will make his 249th round start. He will join Russell Ingall and Craig Lowndes as the only drivers to reach the 250-round mark at the Gold Coast 600.


It's 50 years since Mount Panorama hosted its first Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars round. The circuit hosted the single- event decider in 1966, won by Ian Geoghegan in a Ford Mustang. Bathurst also hosted championship rounds in 1969, 1970, 1972, 1995 and 1996 before the Bathurst 1000's inclusion in the title race from 1999. This year's Bathurst 1000 is the 56th running of the Great Race at Mount Panorama. The event moved to Bathurst from Phillip Island in 1963, while there were two events held in 1997 and 1998 (for V8 Supercars and Super Touring).

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94.