JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Friday, 29 July 2016 00:00

Shootout: Top 10 iconic racing numbers


Think iconic Australian touring-car numbers and some immediately come to mind: Peter Brock's #05, Dick Johnson's #17, Larry Perkins' #11 and, of course, the #1 for the reigning champion.

V8X Supercar Magazine ranks the top 10 iconic racing numbers in Australian touring cars in the 'Shootout' section of issue #93.

Issue #93 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93.

The #1 is the most prized number in motorsport, for the championship winner from the preceding season, currently represented by Prodrive Racing Australia's Mark Winterbottom.

Other numbers became intrinsically linked to specific drivers or teams.

Triple Eight Race Engineering's Craig Lowndes has used the #888 exclusively since 2005. In China, triple eight is a symbol for triple fortune... and it has certainly proved fortunate for Triple Eight over the last decade.

Larry Perkins debuted the #11 when he formed his own team in 1986. And the double one became a regular feature for the team that went on to win three Bathurst 1000s in 1993, 1995 and 1997. He favoured the #11 as it required the fewest spare stickers, just a box of #1s.

Peter Brock's promotion against drink driving saw him take on the #05 in the mid-seventies, to highlight the 0.05% blood alcohol limit in Victoria. The #05 soon became synonymous with Brock.

Dick Johnson's association with the #17 dates back to his first outings in the championship. And the number became an institution with the success of Dick Johnson Racing, continuing to this day with DJR Team Penske.

But where do these iconic racing numbers rank in our 'Shootout'? And which other number features in the top 10?

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93 to read the full feature.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table