JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Print this page
Friday, 08 January 2016 00:00

Showdown: The greatest championship deciders


Since the introduction of the multi-round season from 1969, we've witnessed a number of dramatic final-round championship deciders in the Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars.

Some end in controversial collisions, others in upset wins for the underdog, while others went to script.

So while the 2015 decider fizzled somewhat with Mark Winterbottom wrapping up the championship with a race to spare, V8X Supercar Magazine issue #90 takes a look back at the best deciders of all-time.

Issue #90 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #90.

We start with a look back at 1969, the first multi-round Australian Touring Car Championship that ended in a dramatic finale befitting of a single-event decider, which was only settled on the run to the line.

The 1971 finale at Oran Park Raceway witnessed a Mustang and Camaro decider between Bob Jane, Ian Geoghegan and Allan Moffat.

The 1981 finale at Lakeside International Raceway saw a classic head-to-head battle between Dick Johnson and Peter Brock, arguably the greatest tussle between the two greats.

Oran Park Raceway hosted some of the most memorable finales over the years, including classic deciders that were won by Jim Richards in 1987 and 1990.

Into the modern era, we profile the controversial finales of 2003 and 2006, an incredibly close decider in 2007 and the high drama of 2010.

Relive all these finales and more in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #90, on sale now!

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #90, including the 2016 Castrol EDGE V8 Supercars calendar.